Yandex beats Bing to become 4th largest search engine

yandexWow, nobody saw that coming!

Yandex surpassed Bing on the number of monthly search queries in November and December 2012. You might think (as I first did) that it happened in some local market, say ex-USSR territory or something. However, the figures are for the worldwide number of queries.

Now that’s just embarrassing. You would think with all the money Microsoft throws to buy users, theyโ€™d get higher in the online search game, not lower. Congratulations to the Yandex team though!

4 Responses to Yandex beats Bing to become 4th largest search engine

  1. zholobov says:

    Even in the article you linked to, reason for this Yandex feat is not analyzed and they even provide some hints what is really happening. So the future for Yandex worldwide is not clear at all, as far as I understand. I suppose the big success in Turkey is the reason for this tactical jump forward.

    Meanwhile, I started using Bing along with Google. And not because company I work at now. Some friends from Bing showed me with examples that Bing today (in 2013) is not worse and sometimes even better than Google. Hell, Bing is quicker than Google even in Google’s Chrome (which I have no plans to stop using in favor of terrible IE :))! And ontopic – Yandex vs. Bing – from my end user perspective, Yandex is slower than Bing and is also less relevant (at least in my searches). And that’s not taking into account all the “knowledge graph” features and similar things. Yandex is totally last century in this regard. Of course, Bing … borrowed all the features from Google, but they work great and make it much better than Yandex for sure.

    So at the moment I would not rate Yandex as a competitor even to Bing, which is still on the bottom of search market.

    • Oleg Kokorin says:

      I don’t use neither Yandex nor Bing, so I totally accept that Bing might be faster, better, and more relevant than Yandex, or even Google.

      The thing that strikes me most in this news is the financial perspective. Yandex has definitely NOT spent anything close to the amount of money Microsoft did on R&D and marketing. And yet Yandex got that increase in users and search queries. They must be doing something right!

      • zholobov says:

        Sure, tactical advantage is won, as far as comScore is considered objective. We’ll see how it will flow into next financial quarter. As far as I can tell, Bing is just ramping up. We’ll see how Yandex catches up with those CERN initiatives, heh. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Oleg Kokorin says:

      I’m not gonna be involved in a holywar on this one. ๐Ÿ˜‰
      BTW, I just tried bing (in a long while) and liked those cute pics! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

